Book Reviews

25 12 2005

To preface this, Katrien just got a gift certificate for Amazon, so I reviewed some books for her. I just got $50 for Barnes and Noble, so I would value some reviews from you folks. PLEASE POST THEM, ESPECIALLY THE “MUST READS”!!!. Here are mine:

Life of Pi by Yann Martel – I can’t even tell you anything about this book because I feel like I’d spoil it for you. Needless to say, one of the most amazing books I’ve ever read.

Ishmael by Daniel Quinn – I read this book right after Life of Pi. It’s philosophy and religion wrapped in an edible book, and it makes you think outside of the perspective of mankind about what we really are to this planet.

The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King – These are my favorite books ever. I’d recommend trying the Gunslinger and seeing if you like it. The series is like nothing else King has written. It’s a mix of fantasy and reality that just made me crave more. If you want, I could loan these to you. Just let me know before break is over, and I could get them all back with me.

The Missing Piece and the Big O by Shel Silverstein – I’ll push anything Silverstein wrote, but this one was happy and sad and rings true to daily life. I loved it and actually just bought it today to give to my sister on Christmas… which is today. Merry Christmas! Other Shel books that amaze me: The Giving Tree, Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, etc.

A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson – This one should be super cheap on amazon, and it’s a great read… really fast. It’s funny, and it intertwines humor with the history and preservation efforts of the Appalachian Trail.

Actions

Information

One response

23 03 2007
David Schleicher

I recommend “The Last Town on Earth” by Thomas Mullen if you like historical fiction.

I would recommend “Winterwood” by Patrick McCabe if you like to be challenged and don’t demand tidy conclusions to psychologically complex and dark stories.

And I would recommend my own novel, “The Thief Maker” if you like bleak psychological thrillers with vivid characters and lots of juicy plot twists. (Ah, ain’t shameless self-promotion grand?)

Reveiws for all of these books can be found on my blog. Enjoy that gift certificate and happy readings!

Leave a Reply

