Fast post… standing at a comp in Mem Lib

5 10 2005

Today I slept in. I woke up at 6:30am to find that my eyes were nearly swollen shut from lack of sleep. I made up my mind at that moment to skip biochem this morning since the lecture audio is online. I set my alarm for 10:00 since that was when I needed to skip my lecture to sit in on a radio show that my teacher does.

I woke up at 10:00, ate a relaxed breakfast and actually gave the cat some attention, something I usually don’t do. I’m trying to get her back on my side. She’s still skiddish, but hopefully that will change.

I left to get to my bike to find a squirrel nosing around by the garbage. I thought this was interesting since there had been a dead squirrel sitting in a box in our trash for nearly a week. As I approached my bike, I saw that the squirrel was actually investigating another ball of fur lying at the bottom of the dropoff from our garbage landing to the driveway below it.

It was another squirrel. Since I hadn’t seen it last night, I assumed it was freshly dead. The live one kept approaching the dead one’s head and sniffing at it cautiously. When it seemed to have satisfied its curiosity, it turned away. When I thought it would hop away, it turned around and came back. It was like it couldn’t believe it was dead. It didn’t seem angry or sad. Nothing anthropomorphic. It just seemed like it wanted to know why one was dead.

I wonder if someone’s shooting them. It’s sad for me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

