Death of your parents

9 07 2005

So a high school friend of mine’s mom just died of a pulmonary
embolism, which is apparently something that can happen at many ages. I
guess she had it in the shower and had no brain activity by the time
the ambulance was transporting her to the hospital. The woman was a
little older than my dad and so well known in the community that she
even got a public obit in the Minneapolis Strib.
She was a wonderful woman who gave piano lessons to many of my friends
(and her own son.) It’s sad and scary how someone can lose someone so
fast.

A pulmonary embolism occurs when the pulmonary artery (from the heart
to the lungs) is blocked by something. Most commonly it occurs when a
clot on a deep vein in the leg breaks loose and moves toward the heart.
Clots in the legs can occur from something as simple as sitting on a
long plane or car ride. When a pulmonary embolism occurs, blockage can
cause death within 30 minutes of the onset of symptoms.

I can’t get the thought of one or both of my parents dying out of my
head. I’m scared and paranoid because of it. I only think about it when
I’m not busy doing something, like now. I don’t want to lose them so
soon, and I likely won’t, but what if…?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

