Thoughts

7 01 2005

Two poems by Shel Silverstein that went on my facebook profile:

ALICE
She drank from a bottle called DRINK ME
And up she grew so tall,
She ate from a plate called TASTE ME
And down she shrank so small.
And so she changed, while other folks
Never tried nothin’ at all.

FISH?
The little fish eats the tiny fish,
The big fish eats the little fish–
So only the big fish gets fat.
Do you know any folks like that?

I was in the book store today and saw a book by him with all these adult-themed cartoons. They involved sex or stealing or things like that. They still had that same funny “teach you a lesson” slant, though. It’s funny what you can learn from his stuff. I always read Where the Sidewalk Ends and The Giving Tree when I was little. I’d read it to my mom to show her how well I could do it. When I think back on those, if I had read them more later in life, I think everything would have sunk in more. The guy was deep.

I was looking through old stuff to find those Silverstein books, and I came across a bunch of things from my childhood. There were all sorts of books: Dr. Seuss books; Animalia by Graeme Base; Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

I found some old stuffed animals, too. I saw my “Where the Wild Things Are” monster. It was the gray one with the scales and horns. I bet if I dug far enough down, I could find my little brown bear Oatmeal and my favorite bear Whitey. Yes, his name was Whitey. That’s the innocence of being a child, I guess.

Another toy was a stuffed Big Bird with a blue plush inner tube around him. There’s a picture of me buried in my mom’s photo albums where I’m standing next to my first dog, Big Red (in all fairness, the name on his papers was Rin Tin Red III.)

I’m five years old with a black jacket and a cap on. It’s fall and I’m holding the Bird Bird lossely at my side. It looks like I carry it around so much I don’t even know it’s there anymore.

Red is standing a little behind me and off to my side. The look on his face is that of a dog with love and age written all over him. He looks proud and content while still very noble.

I can’t remember if I was pouting or smiling for the camera, but it doesn’t matter. I know I was happy then.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

