Two Songs

17 11 2004

We Looked Like Giants – Death Cab For Cutie

God bless the daylight, the sugary smell of springtime
remembering when you were mine in a still suburban town

When every Thursday, I’d brave those mountain passes
and you’d skip your early classes and we’d learn how our bodies worked

God damn the black night, with all its foul temptations
I’ve become what I always hated when I was with you then

We looked like giants in the back of my grey subcompact
fumbling to make contact as the others slept inside
and together there in a shroud of frost, the mountain air
began to pass through every pane of weathered glass
and I held you closer than anyone would ever get

Remember the J.A.M.C. and reading aloud from magazines
I don’t know about you but I swear on my name they could smell it on me
But I’ve never been to good with secrets… ohh…

Oh together there in a shroud of frost, the mountain air
began to pass through every pane of weathered glass
and I held you closer…

and

Styrofoam Plates – DCFC

There’s a saltwater film on the jar of your ashes
 i threw them to sea
 but a gust blew them backwards
and the sting in my eyes
that you then inflicted
was par for the course
just as when you were living.

It’s no stretch to say you were not quite a father
but a donor of seeds
to a poor single mother that would raise us alone,
we’d never see the money
that went down your throat
through the hole in your belly.

Thirteen years old in the suburbs of denver
standing in line for Thanksgiving dinner
at the catholic chuch.
The servers wore crosses
to shield from the sufferance plauging the others.
styrofoam plates,
cafeteria tables
charity reeks of cheap wine and pity
and i’m thinking of you.
I do every year
when we count all our blessings
and wonder what we’re doing here.

You’re a disgrace to the concept of family
the priest won’t divulge that fact in his homily
and i’ll stand up and scream
if the mourning remain quiet,
you can deck out a lie in a suit but i won’t buy it.

i won’t join in the procession
that’s speaking their peace
using five dollar words
while praising his integrity
and just cause he’s gone
it doesn’t change the fact:
he was a bastard in life
thus a bastard in death.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

