Mason

10 06 2004

DARKNESS BETWEEN THE FIREFLIES
Written and performed by Mason Jennings

I woke up before you in the total darkness, early morning
I could hear the wind in the trees
I was looking for the light to bring you out, from the shadows
redefine you now for only me

And honey i’m sure
that you’ve been in love before,
Plenty of men have held high places in your eyes,
and jealousy has got no use for me,
The past is beautiful
like the darkness
between the fireflies

I was driving faster through the appalachians
I could see the world go out below me in the sun
you should know by now that someone’s always been there, long before you
you’re never going to be the only one,

And honey i’m sure
that you’ve been in love before,
plenty of men have held high places in your eyes,
but jealousy has got no use for me,
the past is beautiful
like the darkness between the fireflies,
beautiful like the darkness between the fireflies

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

