Morals

3 06 2004

Son of a bitch! Wrote a bunch about my damn squeaky neighbots and… it’s a long story. Let’s just say the neighbots have been shut down for the evening. Their systems are down.

     Another revelation that occured to me last weekend was that we forget our childhood so fast in an effort to grow up when it can really help us in growing up. And I mean growing up.

     The thing that opened my eyes was something that happened on Saturday. A few homeless guys came up to our porch uninvited and my housemate Griff started talking to them, both parties drunk. He took a shining to them. He then proceeded to give them beer.

     It wouldn’t have been a problem if it had been from the keg, but it was from my freshly-purchased, unopened case of mountain spring water beer from the heavens…er… Busch Light. Anyways, I was a little peeved. Then he gave more away in an “attempt” to get them to leave. Though I think he could have asked nicely or pushed or shoved if he needed to. When I told someone later that night, they said, “Hey. If you give a mouse a cookie…”

     I laughed then and thought about it. Yeah, that was one of the favorites. And it was just funny when I was little and Mom said, “If you give a mouse a cookie…” and I would finish by the time the page turned, “He’s probably going to ask for some milk.” Now I look back and it makes sense. Give bums beer and… they want more! THAT explains a lot! Man, wish I had processed that tidbit before high school. [For further reference see If You Give a Moose a Muffin…]

     I was thinking today, What other books did Mom and Dad read to me to get me to read and maybe even learn something? My favorites, with morals of course, follow.

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein [Here’s the story, but I recommend reading the book with illustrations]

This was one guy that got kids. If you’ve ever read his poety like my favorite Where the Sidewalk Ends then you know. The Giving Tree is about a book who loves a tree and makes as much use out of it as possible. I can’t get much more detailed than that without telling the story. Suffice to say, the tree gives its all to the boy and asks for nothing in return. When it comes down to it, the tree thinks it has nothing left to give but is still able. People can definitely give unconditionally, but few do. I don’t, and when I hear phrases like “Love like you’ll never love again” I don’ take them to heart. Maybe I should.

Animalia by Graeme Base

This book taught me my ABCs. It also taught me that some things are worth a second look (girls). And a third (nice girls). And a fourth (dogs). Because, as any Animalia fan knows

Within the pages of this book; you may discover, if you look; beyond the spell of written words, a hidden land of beasts and birds.

For many things are ‘of a kind’;and those with keenest eyes will find; a thousand things, or maybe more–; it’s up to you to keep the score.

Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

Sometimes “goodnight” is the most comforting word in the world.

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

There are monsters, and if you go, they’ll eat you up, they love you so!

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss

Another author who understands kids. Green eggs and ham was an awesome thing to get in preschool for lunch, and we all loved it. The book taught me (much later) that trying new things is okay. I like mushrooms now. I still will would not, could not try onions.

The Month of Octember by Dr. Seuss

I learned quickly that all those damn cool toys only exist in the book. I really wanted the basketball court/raquetball court/dodgeball thingy!

Oh the Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss

My grandma gave me this when I graduated high school, and it’s stuck more with me. It means you’ll be going places, right? Which ones? Yep, you’ll be going to another town, a new place, a new state, a new country, even. But you’ll also be discovering new interests, new people, new and exciting things, and yes, new food. The idea is, you’ve got to take each opportunity and see it as the amazing thing it is. I feel like I’m spouting the BS that people feed you all the time. God knows I’ve heard it a lot, but I know that you can do it. I’ve seen the beauty in things. I’m heard songs that have made me want to cry for no reason than that they’re so good. I’ve seen movies and places that made me feel the same.

It rarely happens, and when it does, embrace it. Look deeper at things and make them more beautiful. I still fail to see the beauty in 99% of the things I see and see very little striking beauty around me at the moment, but it’s there.

Watch for it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

